top of page

The Team


Prof. Ilan Goldfarb

Head of Lab

Ilan Goldfarb is a Full Professor at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Tel Aviv University’s Faculty of Engineering.  After graduating from the Department of Materials Engineering at Ben Gurion University, in the field of growth and characterization of thin films, he pursued to study electron microscopy with Prof. Danny Shechtman at the Technion’s Department of Materials Engineering, where he received his D.Sc. degree in 1994.  As a recipient of a British Council Post-Doctoral Award, he then continued to Oxford University (UK), where he spent the next five years as a Research Fellow at the Department of Materials, specializing in surface science, epitaxial growth, and scanning tunneling microscopy.  He joined Tel Aviv University in 1999, and spent his 2010-2011 sabbatical year at the Nanoelectronics Research Group at Hewlett-Packard Laboratories in Palo Alto (USA) exploring electronic structure and conduction mechanisms in amorphous materials.  Between 2017-2021 he headed the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at TAU Faculty of Engineering, and prior to that he was a director of TAU Wolfson Applied Materials Research Centre.

Prof. Goldfarb’s current research focuses on self-organization of magnetic epitaxial nanostructures by scanning tunneling microscopy, electron diffraction, and photoemission methods, and on electronic structure of amorphous oxide films.  He used to be a Member of the Board of Editors of Applied Physics A

  • lab engineer WANTED

  • Alex Borodetzky, M.Sc. (2021-2023, with D. Sherman)

  • Tamir Hazan, M.Sc. (2021-2022)

  • M.Sc. students WANTED

  • Ph.D. students WANTED

  • Post-docs WANTED


  • Mario Levinshtein, lab engineer

  • Sahar (Yossi) Meir, lab engineer

  • Dr. Jitendra Kumar Tripathi, post-doc  

  • Dr. Frida Kopnov, post-doc

  • Dr. Alon Givon, post-doc

  • Dr. David Spirito, post-doc

  • Dr. Anjan Bhukta, post-doc

  • Dr. Akhilesh Kumar Patel, post-doc

  • Dr. Oren Levy, Ph.D.

  • Dr. Gili Cohen-Taguri, Ph.D.

  • Dr. Federico Cesura, Ph.D.

  • Dr. Matan Dascalu, Ph.D.

  • Yu Wang, Ph.D.

  • Gili Cohen, M.Sc.

  • Steve Grossman, M.Sc.

  • Tzur Genossar, M.Sc.

  • Lilach Bezalel, M.Sc.

  • Evgeny (Yoni) Roizin

  • Shirley Manor

  • Nofar Azoulay

  • Tom Dikori

  • Yotam Camus

  • Rachel Levy

  • Matan Dascalu

  • Tamir Amrani

  • Nofar Livni

bottom of page